The gradual transformation of BUK mass communication

The gradual transformation of BUK mass communication
Dr Mainasara Yakubu Kurfi

To be the speech of Head of Department of Mass Communication, Bayero University, Kano Dr. Mainasara Yakubu Kurfi during the Department’s 40th Anniversary held from Friday 11th to Saturday 12th February 2022 at Convocation Arena, Bayero University, Kano
Progressive transformation of the ministry.

The Department of Mass Communication at Bayero University, Kano, a leading center for journalism and mass communication training in West Africa, was established in October 1978 when the first batch of students enrolled in the Bachelor of Arts (BA) program in Mass Communication. under Faculty of Arts and Islamic Studies (FAIS) at Old Campus of Bayero University, Kano with 31 students and four (4) academic staff namely: Mr. Eric Northy, Dr. Mike Egbon, Miss Kuhn and Malam Yusuf Abba.

This followed the establishment of a planning committee group in 1977 made up of carefully selected academics and media professionals from various parts of the country. The planning group was tasked with developing a mass communication program and department to meet the manpower needs of emerging media establishments and mass communication training institutions in the federation and the North in particular. . The department is the third in line of establishments in Nigeria after Nsukka (Jackson College of Journalism established in 1960 and that of the University of Lagos in 1963.

The department moved to the new campus in 1984 and since then it has flourished having trained and produced high quality graduates and professionals in Nigeria and beyond. Several of the Department’s products work in local, national and international media and other related institutions, organizations and agencies. Among its peers, the Department can boast of having the best products, facilities and teaching staff. Although at its inception the Department was focused on broadcasting and printing, the global revolution in the communication and media sector had necessitated the expansion of our curriculum which is tailored to the acquisition of skills in new and difficult areas such as marketing communication, health communication, political communication. , agricultural communication and new emerging media among others.

During the 2005/2006 session, based on the recommendations of the National Universities Commission (NUC) accreditation team, the changing trend in global journalism and mass communication education, the department was transferred to the Faculty of Social Sciences and Management (SMS) and later transformed into a full-fledged Faculty of Communication in 2016. Based on this, the department now awards the degree of Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in mass communication.

Besides the regular B.Sc. Undergraduate Program in Mass Communication, the department offers professional and academic postgraduate programs leading to higher degrees: the Postgraduate Diploma in Mass Communication (PGDMC); Masters in Public Relations (MPR); Masters in Communication Studies (MCS); Master of Science (M.Sc.) Mass Communication and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.). So far, the department has graduated over 500 M.Sc. students as well as 37 PhD students. students who make the Department at the forefront of postgraduate education among its peers. All these achievements are attributed to the quality of the teaching and technical staff and training facilities provided by the university management.

In addition, the department has a brand new FM radio station tagged as “BUK-FM 98.9” which serves as a platform for the training of our broadcasting students and a means for the university to project itself positively towards the outside world. Similarly, the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) recently approved a license for a brand new television station in the Department which will soon be taken over courtesy of the MacArthur Foundation through Professor Umaru Alhaji Pate, Vice Chancellor from the Federal University of Kashere.

In an effort to encourage specialization like what is achieved in global trend, the B.Sc. Mass Communication will be progressively unbundled into eight different departments: B.Sc. Journalism and Media Studies; B.Sc. Public Relations; B.Sc. Advertising; B.Sc. Broadcasting; B.Sc. Film and Multimedia Studies; B.Sc. Development Communication Studies; B.Sc. Information and Media Studies; and, B.Sc. Strategic Communication.

The Department takes great pride in producing eminent personalities such as the current Emir of Kano, His Highness, Alhaji Aminu Ado Bayero; Teacher. Mustapha Nasir Malam, outgoing Dean, Faculty of Communication (2nd series); Dr. Abubakar Shehu Minjibir, Chairman, BUMCAA (1st Series); Alhaji Garba Bello Kankarofi, former General Manager, Kano State Radio and former Registrar, APCON (1st series); Malam Abdulsalam Mohammed, former Chief Executive of the Nigerian Ports Authority; Mohammed Muktar Adam, the first correspondent of the News Agency of Nigeria in London, United Kingdom (1st set); Malam Muktar Zubair Sirajo, the current National President of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations; Malam Ishaq Modibbo Kawu, former MD Kwara State Radio as well as former DG National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) (1993 set), Hon. Alhassan Ado Goguwa, Majority Leader, House of Representatives, Hon. Sha’aban Ibrahim Sharada, Chairman of the House Security Committee, House of Representatives, to name a few. Currently, the department has three professors, six associate professors and seven lecturers. Ninety percent (90%) of our staff hold a PhD. holders.

From 1978 to 2022, the department is blessed with the following personalities as department heads: Dr Eric Northy, Prof. Martin Maloney, Prof. Stanley Donnel, Prof. William Mackie, Dr. Mike Egbon, Dr. Chris Onunkwo, Dr. Gary I. Hunt, Dr. Glaston Yearwood, Malam Muhammad Bashir Ali, Dr. Abdurrahman Adam, Malam Gausu Ahmad, Dr. Umar Faruk Jibril, Dr. Balarabe Maikaba, Dr. Suleiman Mainasara Yar’Adua , Dr. Haruna Isma’il, and finally, Dr. Mainasara Yakubu Kurfi.

Finally, I am happy to say that graduates of this department are visible in almost all local, national and international media organizations in Nigeria and outside including British Broadcasting Service, Voice of America, Radio Dutch Welle, Radio France International, Nigeria Television Authority, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, Voice of Nigeria, AIT, Channels, Daily Trust journal, Leadership, Blue Print, Punch, The Sun, Guardian, NNPC, Central Bank, NBC, NUC etc. etc

Dr Mainasara Yakubu Kurfi
Head, Department of Mass Communication, Bayero University, Kano

Kidnapped schoolchildren

Yauri FGC students, Kebbi
241 days 2 hours 54 minutes 53 seconds,

Baptist School Students, Kaduna
223 days 4 hours 36 minutes 18 seconds

Students from Tegina Islamiya, Niger (released)

Spent 88 days from May 30, 2021 to Aug 26, 2021

Report by:

About Thomas Brown

Check Also

Polyamory is effective if you communicate correctly – The Rocky Mountain Collegian

College student | Blush cat Three people stand together in a triangle formation on 9/11. …